This Week’s Author Spotlight We Have Seven Steps!

Author Photo

Welcome and we’re back with an all new author’s spotlight with the lovely Seven Steps! Seven thanks for coming and joining us this week! I’m excited at some of the topics we’re tackling so let’s get started!

What made you want to be a writer? I was an avid reader growing up. I remember my father and I hanging out in bookstores for hours. It was a natural progression for me to become a writer and to tell the stories that I didn’t see written growing up.

Tell us your book’s genre? I write Science Fiction Romance.

Tell us about your book and how it’s available. (Kindle, Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, paperback etc.) The Slave Planet is set in an Earth colony stationed on the planet Venus. Over time, women have taken over the government and enslaved all men. The main character is a woman named Nadira who has fallen in love with her slave, Kiln. When she is elected to the High Council, she becomes caught up in a crooked politician’s murderous scheme. The collateral is her slave, Kiln. The story follows Nadira in her quest to get Kiln back by any means necessary.

How important is it to read books when you want to be an author? Reading books when you’re an author is like studying biology before you become a doctor. It is indispensable. You must read if you write. There is no way around it.

I personally love how you add characters that are a black woman and a white man. How did you decide to write a book about an inter-racial couple? I am an African American woman, and I have always been attracted to other races. I think that my preference just comes out in my writing. It is also important to me to make sure that my books are as diverse as possible. I want to write in a way that anyone can relate and everyone feels included.

Which character do you identify with most in your novel? Definitely Nadira. I am a hopeless romantic and I go against the grain, just like her. I’m also stubborn, head strong, and have a nervous tick where I rub my stomach. Hmmm… maybe Nadira is more like me then I thought.

Is there a message you’d like to send through your book? Love conquers all.

What made you want to add a very difficult issue such as slavery in your novel? I thought that it would be a unique perspective on the slavery issue. Having white males be slaves to black women is a trope that I have never seen before, and I love the uniqueness of it.

Which part of the publishing process do you detest most? Marketing. I’d rather spend time writing more books then constantly trying to promote myself. I’m an introvert, so putting myself out there is hard for me.

Tell us how the atmosphere needs to be for you to be able to write. Example, music on or quiet etc. I need it to be quiet with no interruptions. My favorite writing times are in my car during my lunch break, and while my husband plays video games. He normally plays with a headset on, so I can sit in the recliner and really get stuff done. I usually listen to whales singing or animal sounds. I know, it’s weird.

What is one goody you must have at your desk when you’re writing? A wrist rest.

What is the worst thing you’ve had to overcome before publishing your novel? IF it’s too personal just make a generalized statement if you can. My own self-doubt. Its one thing to read what you wrote and say that is good. It’s another thing to put yourself out there for the world to judge. But, I ripped the Band-Aid off and I’m glad I did.

When you need some extra encouragement, who do you turn to? I have great friends on Facebook who give me the extra push that I need when I need it.

How do you market your book? I like to use different book related blogs and websites.

Has readers every contacted you? If so, tell us what they said. I have had good feedback from readers who’ve told me that they enjoyed my book and that they are looking for the next one. It’s really flattering and humbling when anyone says that they have read anything that I’ve written.

Who do you trust to read your finished books before publication? My beta readers and my editor.

Tell us all about your very first book signing. Take us there with your description of people, place, food, décor etc. I have never had a book signing but I hope to have one in the future.

What do you enjoy when you’re not writing? I love hanging out with my family. We are really big movie buffs, and we especially love Disney movies. I also am a bit of a wine connoisseur. Well, not a connoisseur. Maybe a wine connoisseur in training. Who am I kidding? I just like to drink wine!

Tell your readers what your favorite food and color is. Let them in to just who Seven Steps is. Baked Macaroni and Cheese and the color blue.

Tell us your favorite novel? The Air He Breathes by Brittinay Cherry.

Now a fun game I’ll ask what your preference. Let your readers know what you love.

A walk in the park or a stroll around town? A stroll around town. I’d love to take in the sights.

Ice cream or frozen yogurt? Ice Cream.

Cool whip or real whip cream? Is there a difference?

Sci-fi novels or romance novels? Oohh, can I have both? No? Ok, romance.

Orange juice or milk? Orange juice all the way.

Cold cereal or hot cereal?? Hot cereal, particularly oatmeal.

Kindle or paperback novels? Nothing beats a good paperback.

Are there any mistakes you made with your first book? I wish I had gotten a better editor / proofreader.

What kind of advice can you give to other either aspiring authors? Write every day. Read every day.

When in doubt, who do you trust to help you out? My family.

When is the release of your next novel? Name genre or if it’s part of a series. If your book is part of a series tell the readers about the others that are out for sale. My next novel is a clean contemporary rock star romance, titled THE LAST ROCK KING. It is a stand-alone.

Where can we find your author page of your work to follow you and purchase your awesome book? On my website, http://www.sevenstepsauthor.com

The_slave_planet

I don’t know about all of you but my reading list is growing lol. Thank you Seven Steps! I look forward to interviewing you again when your next novel is released.
Everyone, follow along for next week’s author’s spotlight. Who will it be??? What genre?

Author: Author Aimeé Marie Bejarano

Aimeé Marie Bejarano is an Author of historical fiction and paranormal thriller/horror novels. She not only loves the grind of writing but of daily caring for her animals on a small farm. Being unmarried, but married to the Lord, Aimee's only passion is for the life given and to do all she can to fulfill what God has planned. This site is also meant to open the eyes of what is taught, has been taught and continuing to be taught in this world. Eyes open to the truth which is what she desires. To teach on what God's word says about infamous topics such as spirits, haunting, ghosts etc.

Leave a Reply

