Welcome To the Spotlight Author Mary Woldering!

MWphoto-jpg

Welcome one and all! I’ve been sick so we’re late but we can’t pass this interview up! It’s with the talented Mary Woldering. This is going to be fun so let’s get started!

What made you want to be a writer? I always wanted to be one.

Tell us your book’s genre? Historical/Visionary Fantasy

Tell us about your book and how it’s available. (Kindle, Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, paperback etc.) Amazon print and e-book

How important is it to read books when you want to be an author? Fairly important. However, it DOES cut into writing time.

How did you come up with this fantastic idea? I had a lot of dreams and meditations on the Ancient world with friends, A story emerged bit by bit later.

Which character do you identify with most in your novel? Ariennu of Tyre – my darker, wilder side

“Did the Bible have anything to do with your idea for this novel? Not specifically. Many legends and customs of the ancient Middle East that are mentioned in the Bible show up.

Is there a message you’d like to send through your book? If you journey from being man to god, you don’t lose human nature. There are still emotions or all kinds as long as we live. That’s just one of many, though.

Which part of the publishing process do you detest most? MARKETING

Tell us how the atmosphere needs to be for you to be able to write. Example, music on or quiet etc. Generally quiet.

What is one goody you must have at your desk when you’re writing? Coffee in the morning

What is the worst thing you’ve had to overcome before publishing your novel? IF it’s too personal just make a generalized statement if you can. A regular job. I had to retire.

When you need some extra encouragement who do you turn to? My writer’s group

How do you market your book? I have no real plan. I talk about it on Facebook & Twitter and my website. I go to live sales events. I don’t have a marketing budget.

Has readers every contacted you? If so, tell us the best thing they’ve said to you. They love my books and can’t wait for the next one to come out. I’m a bit late this year and they are coming after me.

Who do you trust to read your finished books before publication? My writer’s group & my son

Tell us all about your very first book signing. Take us there with your description of people, place, food, décor etc. I’ve never had an official signing that featured only me. I’ve sold signed books at fairs and gone to meetings with my spouse… sold signed copies there.

What do you enjoy when you’re not writing? Being with my spouse & talking with my family.

Tell your readers what your favorite food and color is. Let them in to just who Mary is. I love the colors of sunrise, sunset , night and rainbows… almost all colors

Tell us your favorite novel? There are many I like. I don’t really have a favorite.

Now a fun game I’ll ask what your preference. Let your readers know what you love.
A live drama or the opera? Live drama
Chips or crackers? Tortilla chips
Hamburger or chicken sandwich? Chicken
Fries or onion rings? Fries
Milk shake or smoothie? Milk Shake
Thunderstorms or star gazing?? Thunderstorms
Kindle or paperback novels? Kindle

Are there any mistakes you made with your first book? Also my covers are great, but don’t promote the books well. I’m constantly improving. They still get 5 stars though.

What kind of advice can you give to other either aspiring authors? Publish earlier, don’t think your book isn’t good enough. Your readers will let you know.

When in doubt, who do you trust to help you out? Writer’s group and my son or daughter.

When is the release of your next novel? Name genre or if it’s part of a series. If your book is part of a series tell the readers about the others that are out for sale. Book 3 of the Children of Stone Series –

Opener of the Sky. Scheduled for the Fall.

Where can we find your author page of your work to follow you and purchase your awesome book?
http://www.amazon.com/Mary-R.-Woldering/e/B00OND7QMU/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1
And http://www.maryrwoldering.com
1 CstoneVICfront

This has been great! Thanks Mary! I hope all of you run to grab her awesome novels!
Join us next week. You’ll never know who will be in the spotlight so follow this blog!

2 thoughts on “Welcome To the Spotlight Author Mary Woldering!”

  1. Hi there! Sorry you’re having troubles with who is asking the questions. I will certainly fix this for ya on the next author interview! So glad for your input and that you love the questions. I really want the readers to get a great insight on just who the author is. Many blessings and welcome to the fun!!

  2. Your questions to the author are fantastic. I’m reading on a mobile & its difficult to determine who’s asking & who’s answering. Your quick fire section at the end is fabulous & fun. 😄

Leave a Reply

